Do Celiacs need to avoid alcohol?

Disclaimer: This is an educational and informative post, nothing in it is meant to take the place of medical treatment, neither does it claim to treat, cure or diagnose any condition.


Some alcohol is made from rye, barley, hops all of which contain gluten. This is fermented from the gluten containing grains. For example Beer.

However, pure distilled alcohol even if made from wheat, barley, or rye, is considered gluten-free because the process of distillation destroys the gluten protein.

However, be on the lookout for hidden gluten such as in flavorings or other additives after the distillation process.

Wine is made from grapes so therefore it is naturally gluten-free.

It is important to note that some alcohol, even though it may be gluten-free, can be contaminated if it is stored in oak barrels sealed with a wheat flour paste.

On a side note, when you are first diagnosed with Celiac Disease, you are most probably suffering from intestinal permeability and have an imbalance of gut flora. It would be advisable to stay off alcohol for a time as your gut heals as alcohol is a known gut irritant and can disrupt the gut flora.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *